Media diary 7: Close up

I was woken up by an international phone call from Shanghai at 8:50 am. One of my best friends, Cong, was in World Exposition. She was so excited to share with me what she saw and how the exposition was like when she was in Chinese Exhibition Hall at that time.

 At 9:16 pm, she was busying going to other exhibition halls and hang up. After that, I was neither in the mood of getting up or going back to sleep. So I picked up a Chinese novel, Dulala, which I borrowed from Maggie last week. It is a story about how a girl becomes a senior executive from a clerk with her excellent interactive skills.  

At 11:00 am, I turned on laptop and checked E-mail and messages on regular social networking websites I went to. Then, I inserted a CD in my computer with songs of my favorite singer. Listening to her songs, I finished my lunch. At 11:50 am, I went to online application of Mars website to apply for a training program for senior managers. The first round interview of this program requires a team work of three people. My roommate and I both want to apply and we need another teammate. So we posted a note on the website and look for people with same interest to the program. I was done with personal information part of the application at 1:30 pm. Then, I texted my friends in US and asked if they know any person who wants to go back and work in China after graduation. If so, maybe he or she could be our partner.

2:00 pm, my friend and I was heading to the swimming pool of our community. We swam and did sun bath until 3:20 pm. I took a shower after going back to my apartment. I kept searching other job opportunities from 3:50 pm to 5:20 pm.

From 5:30 pm to 7:00 pm, my roommate and I made dinner together. We were watching PPStream when we were eating.  At 9:25 pm, my friend and I went back to our post on the official website of Mars to check if there were people replied. Fortunately, four people left their MSN on our post. From 9:40 pm to 11:00 pm, we were communicating with these people in order to find the best partner to finish the team project. Finally, we picked up a Chinese guy who went to school in London as our last team member. We decided to meet tomorrow afternoon online to talk more about our project because it was already 4am in London and he had to sleep. By that time, we were excited about our first step on this program. Hope we could make it in the final!

Summary of whole week’s media usage:

Basically, the Internet is the only medium I consumed every day and at least spent four to five hours on it, no matter I was studying and playing. Since I do not have TV and regular radio, I watched shows and listening to radio on the Internet. Cell phone is one of main approaches I keep in touch with my family and friends. I made phone calls and also send or receive text messages. Reading newspaper is not a routine thing for me. I only did that once or twice a week. Maybe I would do that more frequently since Mindy helped me find out there were USA today and New York Times free with student ID. I never did magazines in the whole week because it was expensive and I did not have access to it except those gossip magazines at the check-out desk of supermarket. In the weekend, I sometimes went out to see a film or my friend would take their TV to our apartment to watch DVD together. We play cards once or twice a month. When I was bored and did not want to go online, I would read novels, at the most time, I read novel in my native language.

October 16, 2010. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Mindy McAdams replied:

    That Mars program sounds like a pretty cool opportunity. There’s sure to be a lot of competition!

    Ah, magazines … you should go to the Fine Arts library and look at their wall of magazines. It’s a very nice place to hang out and browse. Of course, it’s also nice to browse at Barnes and Noble, or Borders, or Books-a-Million. All of them have a good magazine selection.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

